Trouble with Audiobooks and music on the same Ipod

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

dustin1706

Hello all,

I'm a long time lurker but this is my first post. I use iTunes all the time for purchasing TV shows and music and my entire family has ipods/iphones so I am not a complete newb with these things.

That being said, trying to get audiobooks to work the way I'd like them to is about to drive me completely crazy.

Basically, my mother is not very tech savvy, and she would like to have The Bible and some other audiobooks on her ipod along with some music. This seems simple, but here are the conditions I would like to set somehow:

1. Songs Shuffle
2. Audiobooks Play in order
3. Be able to pause partway through an audiobook play some songs and then resume that audiobook
4. Organize audiobooks into "Bible" and "Other"

I have set up all of the audiobooks to [Audiobook, Remember Position, Skip when Shuffling] as per the guides here on this forum but still have some issues.

1. When shuffle is on for the music, the audio books will show "1 of 1" and will not automatically go to the next chapter.

2. If you select an audiobook from a playlist, then play some music, then return to that playlist, it will NOT automatically scroll to the last chapter you were listening to(your position within that file will be remembered, but you have to scroll to the chapter you were listening to). If you go to the Audiobooks menu(instead of a playlist), then it will scroll to the last chapter you were listening to, but then it will play ALL of your audiobook chapters in alphabetical order not just the ones you want it to. This is a problem unless I want to manually rename all of the files :(

I would like to make this as simple as possible for her, but I just can't seem to figure it out. I am beginning to suspect it is impossible, but I hope that someone here can help me?