Sort songs by Date Created Script

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

dbetanc

Hello Again,

I'd like to know if there is a way to organize songs by Date Created. iTunes only has Date Added, and Date Modified, but it does not show Date Created.

I'm a song writer, and I have a big catalog with my own compositions, and i'd like to be able to sort them by creation date.

Thanks,

Daniel

Website
dougscripts.com
You cannot change the sort column with AppleScript. However I would suggest sorting by "Date Added", since that's the closest iTune will ever get to "Date Created"

However, you could write a script that got the date created from the file in the Finder and pasted it to Comments; then, you could sort by Comments.

dbetanc

Thanks Doug, but, how do I do that? I'm really not that good with scripts.

Thanks!

Daniel

Website
dougscripts.com
Daniel,

I realise you may not want this script as it is, but I thought others would be interested. I've been toying with this:

Code:
[SIZE=1]tell application "iTunes"
	set p to (get view of front window)
	if selection is not {} then
		copy selection to sel
	else
		copy every track of p to sel
	end if

repeat with t in sel
		if class of t is file track then
			tell t
				try
					copy my get_info_of(location) to comment
				end try
			end tell
		end if
	end repeat
end tell

to get_info_of(loc)
	tell application "Finder"
		try
			copy creation date of (get info for loc) to d
		end try
	end tell
	return d
end getInfoOf[/SIZE]
This script copies the "Date Created" string to each track's comment. This string looks like this:

Code:
Tuesday, August 15, 2000 5:57:46 AM
But here's the deal: it's a string, not a date, so that when you sort by comments, it sorts by alphabetical order (Fridays followed by Mondays followed by Saturday, etcetera).