Recover text playlist from .xml file?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

chicowoodhill

Hi - A friend who is a playlist freak lost a big chunk of his music library. He had hundreds of hand-crafted playlists, now with gaping holes.

We still have some old .xml playlist files, and a backup .xml library file, all dated before the losses.

Does an applescript exist that can create text listings of his playlists from the .xml files? Inside the .xml files I can see the list of library songs, and below those are the playlist arrays (consisting of pointers to the songs in the library list). I've recreated a couple by hand so the information is all there.

I dread the time it will take me to write and debug an applescript to do this (I'm a clumsy programmer but given lots of time I can eventually get it done). Does anyone know of a script to do this? Anybody already written something similar?

Thanks......chico

rockmyplimsoul

Website
www.last.fm
If you have the original .xml files from the playlists, you can simply import them into iTunes if the location of the native files for the songs has not changed. If that's the case, the playlists would be as they were before. Note that the playlist name may come in as it appeared when the .xml file was created, so if the name has not changed, maybe re-name the current (defective) one to keep it separate for now.

chicowoodhill

If you have the original .xml files from the playlists, you can simply import them into iTunes if the location of the native files for the songs has not changed.
Thanks but that won't work. Since many of the songs are now gone, importing the playlist will not provide correct playlists, only playlists made up of the remaining songs. iTunes does not inform you which songs are missing.

My friend needs to create a text listing of his original playlists, so he knows what songs to go out and buy to recreate the playlists in full.