Playlist question: can this be done?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

GadgetGuru72

I'm fairly certain that the answer to my question is "no," but I figured I'd post it here and confirm it.

Here's what I'm trying to accomplish:

I have a set of French language CDs that I'm studying. I'd like to listen to one CD to its completion, repeat that CD, and move on to the next one. I'd like the tracks to drop off the playlist as they're played, so that when I return to the playlist I can begin where I left off.

So, it should look like this:

CD ONE
Track 1
Track 2
Track 3
Track 4
Track 5

CD ONE (AGAIN)
Track 1
Track 2
Track 3
Track 4
Track 5

CD TWO
Track 1
Track 2
Track 3
Track 4
Track 5

CD TWO (AGAIN)

It is easy to create a playlist in which each CD would repeat prior to starting the next one, but the problem is that I cannot figure out how to get them to properly drop off after being played.

For example, if I have a rule that "play count = 0," after I play Track 1 on CD ONE, then BOTH instances of Track 1 will drop off the playlist because the track now has a play count of 1. So, by the time I've listened to CD ONE once, the next thing to play will be Track 1 of CD TWO.

Alternatively, if I have a rule that "play count = 2," then I will not be able to resume where I left off because no track would drop off the list until I've listened to it twice. Therefore, if I listen to Tracks 1, 2 and 3 of CD ONE and then stop, when I return to the playlist it will start again at Track 1 on CD ONE because nothing will have dropped off yet.

I don't think there's a way around this ... but I'd be grateful if anybody here can think of a way to accomplish this.

-GG72

bwh79

A not-very-elegant solution would be to rip the CDs twice (or simply make a second copy of the file) so that you have CD 1-a, then 1-b, then 2-a, etc.