iTMS remote search script

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

ConcertMan

Ok, I'm standing in Barnes and Noble looking at CDs and thinking...."I wonder if this album is available on iTMS so I can save the cash from buying it for $20 in the store."

So I got to thinking how can I make this happen. I am a newbie to applescripting but I know there is a way to make it happen.

I've been playing around with doing this via SMS but I'm not sure what program I can use to receive the SMS. plenty of apps will send them but what will receive them?

What are your guys ideas for making this work? i think this might be a huge task to undertake for my first script but I would love if we could make this happen.

Thanks in advance for the help!!!

Peace
jarod

Website
dougscripts.com
That's a great idea. I don't know the first thing about working with SMS, but I'm pretty sure you can't search the iTMS without iTunes in front of you.

You could always call someone with a Mac and have them look something up for you.

Just kidding.

Let us know if you find out more.

mwaf

Use WAP instead of SMS

Having a program recieve SMS would probably require some expensive SMS-data solution from a cellphone company/teleoperator/whatever. I don't live in the states so I wouldn't know, but that's my guess.

Anyway, as far as I know, few phones these days ship without WAP support these days so why not use that instead.

You could use your phone to access the built in webserver on you computer. The webserver would then call an AppleScript that makes the requested search on ITMS and return the results to your phone. Not an impossible task, assuming it is possible to use AppleScript to make the required search on ITMS.

Website
dougscripts.com