iPod Touch stuck in "connect to itunes"

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Skott

New member
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
2
Points
1
My iOS 7 iPod touch 5G is stuck in the "connect to itunes" screen when turning it on.
I suspect overheating because the back was really hot when I woke up.

Already tried the lock-button and home-button for 10 seconds to reboot but it goes back to the connect to itunes.
I'm dependant on the notes I got in there and haven't made a backup in too long time.

Is there a way I can still make a backup now or somehow get out of the itunes screen without connecting it to itunes for a factory reset?

I don't have access to any Macs, only to Windows 7 and Windows 10 PCs and there's no jailbreak on the iPod. Could I save anything with a jailbreak at this point?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cjmnews

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
9,672
Points
48
Location
Arizona
Once in the Connect to iTunes mode, there is no way to stop the restore process that will erase all non-backed up data.

This is why Apple tries to get us to backup to iCloud. Regular backup with iTunes also helps.

There are probably jail breaks for iOS 7, but those won’t help in this mode.

You will probably lose all your data since the last backup.
 

Skott

New member
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
2
Points
1
This is why Apple tries to get us to backup to iCloud. Regular backup with iTunes also helps.
I'm sure I activated iCloud backups, but after checking icloud.com there's nothing in there despite it saying it has about 10mb of documents and 312MB of "backup".

And I'm completely positive I had at least some notes saved in the cloud.

And if I'm for some reason forced to erase everything, could it be recovered like most deleted files?
 

cjmnews

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
9,672
Points
48
Location
Arizona
The iCloud backup will probably save you. Just restore the iPod and restore the iCloud backup.

No, the files cannot be recovered after the restore unless they were in a backup.

I hope the backup is current, then you will only lose photos not your notes.
 
Top