Ipod touch not seen but Classic is

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

pursuant

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
115
Points
16
I have the latest Itunes and have been regularly syncing my Ipod Touch to it. Today the ipod did not show up when I connected it. The PC recognized it but when I ran Itunes diagnostics it said no Ipod was connected to it.
I tried the following
Turning the ipod off and on
Tuning Itunes of and on
Restarting my pc.
I found that the Ipod software was not up to date so I updated it.
I used different USB ports
I tried different cables
I finally connected my Old Ipod Classic and it was immediately recognized and synced.
So I assuming the fault is in the Ipod?
Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks
 

cjmnews

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
9,428
Points
48
Location
Arizona
Is there a flash of a small window on the screen when Windows recognizes it?

It could be the scan and fix issue.

First off open iTunes, click on Edit->Preferences and go to the Devices section.
Put a check mark next to Prevent iPods, iPhones, and iPads from syncing automatically
Click OK.

Unplug the iPod Touch.
Plug in the iPod Touch
On the Scan and Fix prompt, click on Scan and Fix
Then click on Close to complete it.

Go back into iTunes
Click on Edit->Preferences and go to the Devices section.
Remove the check mark next to Prevent iPods, iPhones, and iPads from syncing automatically
Click OK.

Unplug the iPod Touch and plug it back in.

Sync should work.

If it is not that, then I would suspect a driver issue.
See Apple's Help: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204095
Look at the driver section.

If I remember the steps correct it goes something like this:

Open Device Manager (in Control Panel)
Click the + sign next to Universal Serial Bus Controllers.
Click the + sign next to each:
Imaging Devices
Other Devices
Portable Devices
Universal Serial Bus Controllers
until you find Apple iPod Touch
Right Click Apple iPod Touch and choose Uninstall
Follow the prompts.
Unplug your iPod Touch
Reboot
Plug in your iPod Touch

Hopefully it will install and be recognized.
 

pursuant

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
115
Points
16
Thanks for the help
I dont get a scan and fix message when I plug the Ipod in. The Ipod shows up in Windows Explorer as a drive. I get a message on my Ipod that asks me to allow access to the Ipod. Is there a way to run scan and fix on this drive? Does it erase the Ipod?
 

pursuant

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
115
Points
16
I did your next step, reinstalling the driver, as per instruction on that link you sent. That did the trick!
Thanks again for your help
 

cjmnews

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
9,428
Points
48
Location
Arizona
Cool. I was just logging in to respond that IF you don't get the scan and fix message, then skip that. And also Scan and Fix does not erase anything, it just flips a bit in the file system that the iPod can't see but Windows can.

Glad the driver fix worked. I have had to do that occasionally too.
 
Top