import ipod tracks to itunes...

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

maxmc2k2

New member
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Messages
14
Points
0
Age
33
hi
i've just installed the itunes script and it shows up in the itunes' menu bar...
i selected a song of the connected ipod and chose the script from the menu.... it asked me to selcect my itunes music library folder and i select the one, where all my music is stored....
BUT THEN... a message appeared saying: "The variable theSong is not defined"

i've a similar problem using "Mirror playlists to itunes"...
whenever i mirror a playlist i get the error message: "The variable potentialTracks is not defined"...

what can i do? plz help me as soon as possible!!
thx a lot in advance
max
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
705
Points
0
Location
Providence, RI, USA
Website
dougscripts.com
Sorry about your dilemma. What sort of tracks are on your iPod? MP3, AAC...? Also, do you happen to be running a non-English system? (I always ask when I see a problem with a script that uses the text name of a playlist rather than its non-literal index.)

Just so you know, I'm not the author of the script, but I am a pretty good Butt-In-Ski :D
 

maxmc2k2

New member
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Messages
14
Points
0
Age
33
ok... i've just got mp3-files....
and i'm from austria, so i use a german system...

hopefully this information can be useful...
thx a lot
max
 

eustacescrubb

New member
Joined
Jan 18, 2002
Messages
2,284
Points
0
Age
45
Website
www.johnpauldavis.org
Something's happening with both those scripts having to do with the track info - it isn't getting passed to the variables. I'm away from my OS X-supporting computer at present and so can't look at the script, but I'll give it a looksee this evening.

Does German use any characters outside the regular American alphabet? Does your iPod's name have any such characters in it?
 

maxmc2k2

New member
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Messages
14
Points
0
Age
33
the name of the ipod is: bernd kinschners' ipod

do u think it can have problems with the ' ... it's also in the american alphabet but maybe applescript has a prloblem with it...

i'll try it out...
 

maxmc2k2

New member
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Messages
14
Points
0
Age
33
#### it...
doesn't solve the problem either....

i've also selected a song with letters of the american alphabet
 

eustacescrubb

New member
Joined
Jan 18, 2002
Messages
2,284
Points
0
Age
45
Website
www.johnpauldavis.org
Can you give me every little detail about your system? What OS you're running, what versin of iTunes, what generation iPod, what iPod firmware, etc?

I ask because, looking at the scripts, the two errors are different enough that I think there must be something in your setup that's making things not run properly.
 

maxmc2k2

New member
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Messages
14
Points
0
Age
33
ok.. sorry for my late response...
here are the details...
os x 10.2.5 german
itunes 4.0.1
i've got a first generation 5gb ipod using firmware 1.3...
the local mp3 files are stored on a 120gb extern FW hd....
the ipod is connected to a fw-pci-card....
---> that's it...
again thx a lot
max
 

eustacescrubb

New member
Joined
Jan 18, 2002
Messages
2,284
Points
0
Age
45
Website
www.johnpauldavis.org
Hmmm. well, I think it really may be because your system in German. I don't know that you'll be able to use "Import iPod Tracks" at all. The reason is that the way the script gets the the info about hweres gons are is via the UNIX shell by using the iPod's name. Your iPod's name isn't in German-specific characters, but I'm guessing there must be something else in the porcess which is affected by it.

You might be able to use "Mirror iPod Playlists" though, if you're willing to modify your script.
To modify it, you'll just need to open it in Script Editor, and replace all the instances where the script says

Code:
 playlist "Library" of source "Library"
to

Code:
library playlist 1
.

That might solve the problem with that one - since your Library is probably called "bibliotek" or something along those lines.

See if that works.
 

maxmc2k2

New member
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Messages
14
Points
0
Age
33
hey u're a genius ;-) it works!!!
thx so much... the mirror thing is more important to me as i can copy the files using the app "podworks"...
thx a lot
max
 

crwrene

New member
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Messages
1
Points
0
Hi i'm from germany
and i have a similar problem. Sorry for my bad english.
When i run the 'Mirror iPod Playlists in iTunes'-Script the script finished
without errors but the mirrored playlist in iTunes are empty. I already
modifyed the Script ('library playlist 1'). Can somebody help me?

I use:
iTunes 4.1
german OSX 10.2.8
first generation 10G iPod with latest Firmware 1.3
only mp3's are stored on my iPod
the iPod and the file names do not contain special German characters

Thx for your help.
Rene
 
Top