Downloading music to IPOD

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Marc28ct

First I apologize, I am NEW to this whole computer Multi-media thing...

:)

I purchased a 15 MB IPod yesterday. I downloaded the software to my Sony VAIO. Then I beging transferring music from CD to my computer.

But once I hooked up my IPod, it read "Do Not Disconnect". And for the next 45 minutes it kept that posted. I had only had about an hour's worth of music. Does it usually take that long?

I ended up just stopping it, and shutting it down because I had to run out...

Am I missing something?

Marc

cli

The "do not disconnect" message is normal. To stop that, right click on the ipod icon in taskbar and choose unmount.

Marc28ct

Thank you for the response but my problem is nothing was downloaded into the IPod.

I only had about an hour or so of music in my library, on other websites I hear it takes about 10 seconds to download a CD.

CGAR

"Do not disconnect" means that the ipod is ready.

To add music to your ipod go to file->portable devices. That will open up the portable devices window. Click on ipod on the left part of the screen and it will show what is currently on the ipod in the right screen. You can then click synch and it will add everything in your music library to your ipod. Under options make sure that music leveling is off or it will be very slow.

I assume that your formatted your ipod for use with windows. It comes set up for mac.

Hope this helps. If you dont see "preparing to synch" or snyching with a progress bar then it is not doing anything.

Marc28ct

Thank you so much for your help.

I installed the software and it asked for the IPod to be plugged in, so I am assuming it was formatted for my PC, right? It didn't say anything about that in the manual.

Is there something I haven't done?

Marc28ct

The manual says that when you hook up the IPod, it automatically starts to transfer your library.