Copy folder name to album for imported songs

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

fusk

Hi there, i'm quite new at this, but i did search google, this forum and doug's applescript before i made this post.

So i got a big load of music, around 84gb of music, and i'd like to import that in itunes, drag'n drop, i know, but there is one flaw with that.
See if i import a mixed album where there is no id3 tag, then there is no album name in those x tracks, and then they are just scatterd around in itunes, can't sort by album since there is no album name.
So, what i'm looking for is a script that copys the foler name "disco hits 3" into the album tag of those x tracks.
So a mixed album with 10 tracks from 10 diffrent albums would have album "disco hits 3" insted of nothing.

hope you understand :)

thank you

S2_Mac

P'bly easier all around to just do it by hand. Turn off the "Copy files to iTunes Music folder" and "Keep iTunes Music folder organized" prefs at Preferences -> Advanced -> General. Copy the files onto your drive wherever you want them to live (including the "iTunes Music" folder). Then use File -> Add to Library... to add them; they'll stay in whatever folder they're in ("disco hits 3"). Set the two preferences back the way you normally use 'em.

Then just add a Date Added column to iTunes' display and sort by date added -- all the files you just added will be at the top. Select 'em, right-click for Get Info, and add an album name.

fusk

I allready removed the, copy to itunes music folder, and organize.

But doing that on 84gb by hand would take ages, it's over 2500 folders, there must be an easyer solution.

S2_Mac

OK...I read your first description as meaning all the tracks should have the same album.