2009 - Complete Wooden Ipod Mini

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

jozaeh

Hey everyone,
I'm a newbie here and thought i'd post some info and photos of the wooden mod I just finished on my old ipod mini. I found the forum when I did some searching way back and found the original ZapWizard wood ipod in like 2005ish (the wood ipod pioneer). I was surprised that not many wooden ipod mods can be found online?

It's by no means perfect, but it's been a super fun project for me at home. I tried to make the case completely wooden (with working clickwheel) using the internal workings of the original mini. I also wanted to make an itrip and dock for it. I've added photos to my flikr of the finished ipod as well as a photo collection of the whole making process.

I'm still wondering how I might engrave an apple logo on the back without accidentally stuffing the case up, (the hand engraving tests turned out hideous) and how to get my brain around the logics of making a working hold switch. but for now i'll just say "nobody ever uses a hold switch!".

I'm keen to see what you all think, AND if you have any tips on how to engrave the apple logo neatly or work out how to do the hold switch.

See ya!
Josh

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3303/3628076188_1e3f6402af.jpg?v=0

jozaeh

photos

Hey again, i've worked out how to insert photos, so here's some shots with some descriptions:

It's handmade (with special thanks to my 8yr old dremel) from Australian red cedar, Camphor Laurel for the clickwheel, brass plates, brass screws and the guts from the first ipod i ever had.

I was given a new ipod mini for christmas and I just couldn't leave my trusty old mini to sit unused somewhere. So I decided to finally try a wooden shell mod on him that I had wanted to do for a long time.

I was looking for something to protect the wood ipod mini and I stumbled on this wonderful felt case at my local Kikki-K store. They always have great stuff.