iTunes wont leave my genres alone

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

mightyepop

Hi all, new member here,

I've been using iTunes for over 10 years now, but I am currently fed up with one perennial problem that I've never been able to find a fix for. It is almost enough for me to consider moving to an entirely different platform.

I have very carefully created a set of Genres for my music collection. Every time I add music to my collection, sorting it into the correct genre is something I spend time doing. This works fine with songs I've added from ripping CDs or converting my old record albums, however it does not work at all with songs I purchased from the iTunes store.

It seems that every time I visit the iTunes store, every song I ever purchased from them are reset to the original genres that they had when I downloaded them. These are generally meaningless to me - overbroad genres such as "Pop", "Rock", "Pop/Rock", etc. Music wildly mismatched, with (for example) light orchestral music by Mantovani and the like being classified as "Rock" or "Classical" seemingly at random.

Now, my original genre classifications are not lost. If I click on the song and "Get Info", my changes are visible, and when I click "OK", my info becomes visible. But I have over 1200 songs I purchased, and doing this for each song after visiting the iTunes store is a major hassle.

Another problem I have with this is that visiting the iTunes store also resets the "Year" field. The iTunes Store doesn't date a song by the year it was released, like normal people would do, but rather by the last time the record company released it (or renewed the copyright). So I have situations where the Doors "Light My Fire" and the Turtles "Happy Together" are listed as having been released in 2008. The latest version of iTunes doesn't seem to retain my corrections for Years, so it looks like I will have to manually change that again.