How do smart playlists work on iPod Touch? - iLounge Forums
Become a member of the iLounge Forums. Register Now!
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forum FAQ and Forum Policy.

Topic: How do smart playlists work on iPod Touch?

Reply Thread Tools Topic Search

Old 01-05-2009, 05:08 PM

Freshman Lounger

Question How do smart playlists work on iPod Touch?

I'm new to iTunes and my iPod Touch and I'm trying to figure something out: when I create a smart playlist in iTunes and select the playlist for transfer to my Touch, what exactly is transferred? Is it the songs that iTunes has selected matching the smart list criteria, or is it the criteria itself?

What I mean is this: if I have a smart playlist in iTunes that is set to create an hour's worth of songs rated five stars, does iTunes transfer over 60 minutes of tracks, selected at the time of syncing, or does iTunes simply transfer the creation of a playlist with the given criteria, in essence telling my Touch to find an hours worth of five star tracks that are already on my Touch?

The results would be different. In the first example the playlist on the Touch would be static, always the same. In the second example the playlist would be dynamic (just like it is on iTunes) and would give me different results every time I opened the playlist on my Touch.
Old 01-07-2009, 01:32 PM

Barca Lounger

Do a search of Smart Playlists in the iTunes forum. I don't remember who, but someone did a very thorough document on what does and doesn't work with smart playlists on an iPod.