Become a member of the iLounge Forums. Register Now!
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forum FAQ and Forum Policy.

Topic: Size Of Typical Down-Loadable Movie

Reply Thread Tools Topic Search

Old 09-12-2007, 05:27 PM

Freshman Lounger

Size Of Typical Down-Loadable Movie

Much has been written on this Forum about the limited memory of the newly released iPod Touch. The majority of it has been helpful and for that I express my appreciation.

My decision-making process relative to the purchase of an iPod Touch vs. a Classic iPod revolves about the digital size of a typical down-loadable movie. Undoubtedly the proper response is that no such *typical* download exists so please be more specific. Unfortunately I cannot add specificity since I have no experience with iPod videos. I've perused the iTunes Web site in an attempt to answer my own question but in the absence of an iTunes account I'm unable to look in detail at actual file sizes.

Consequently, although a *typical* movie download may not exist, approximately what size may I expect to calculate if the 16 GB iPod Touch is far too small / just right for my needs.

Also, where (desktop computer, external hard drive, etc.) does one save a purchased movie from iTunes? Obvious the portable player regardless of its memory cannot be expected to hold each and every movie ths have been purchased. I ask since it's my understanding that DRM protection creates problems when attempting to move files. Must we actually delete files which have been legally purchased simply because the player's memory cannot hold everything we rightfully own?

Thanks!

Join the iLounge Community and the ad above will disappear.

Old 09-12-2007, 05:43 PM

Pro Lounger