Advice: Should I upgrade?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

jackshephard

Hello, I am new to this forum and would like to ask for some advice.

I own a 6G 80gb iPod Classic which I had bought in 2008 for about $210. This has been the only gadget of mine that I cannot live without and has given me not troubles point blank. The iPod screen has a pretty big dead pixel area which doesn't bother me much though. However, a few weeks ago, my iPod started showing a Pending sector in its HDD diagnostic and started malfunctioning which I fixed by formatting it. The Realloc count is now 140 sectors and it has no Pending sectors anymore.

The Apple stores near me are letting me exchange my iPod for the new 7G/6.5G iPod Classic 160gb (retail price in my country is about $335) by paying $140. I know this might seem an extremely obvious choice to many, and though I am willing to shell out the 140, I am a college student so most such decisions require prior thought. So finally, should I or should I not upgrade my iPod for the new one?

rockmyplimsoul

Website
www.last.fm
If you're getting a full Apple warranty out of the deal, $140 for a new (or likely refurbished) 160GB iPod Classic is a great price. If you're not getting a full year warranty, then I'd be very cautious.

A solid-state memory based iPod like the Touch is going to be more durable than a hard drive iPod, but if the storage space of a Classic is important to you then a new or refurbished Touch may not be worth the extra cost if storage is an issue.

jackshephard

It is a new device and not refurbished and as far as I am aware comes with the 1 yr warranty. I know the disadvantages of the HDD but I need that space. And thanks for your advice :)

jackshephard

OK, so I got this confirmed today that the product will be new and sealed, but I will not be provided any accessories i.e. the charging cable or earphones, just the unit. The warranty lasts for 90 days.