Become a member of the iLounge Forums. Register Now!
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forum FAQ and Forum Policy.

Topic: problems with 240gb ipod mod

Reply Thread Tools Topic Search

Old 12-05-2012, 10:10 AM

Freshman Lounger

problems with 240gb ipod mod

Howdy all,

This is my first time posting here as I seem to run into an issue with my modded ipod. I finally, after 5 years of using my 80gb ipod, bought one of the toshiba 240gb hdd. I installed it no problem (in the past I've replaced the logic board and LCD screen on the same unit). I got it all loaded up with my music and such, plugged it into my car (USB to a pioneer deh-9400), and it worked great. However, after work, I got in the car and the battery on the ipod was totally dead. Now usually, the ipod turns off after a few minutes after the car turns off, but that was not the case this time. It finally started up and charged in my car while I drove. When I got home, though, it would not shut off the normal way and I had to do the "menu+center button" hard reset. I went back out to my car, plugged it back in, played a song, then turned off the car and the ipod still did not shut down (whereas it was shutting down with the 80gb hdd). However, when I unplugged it or had it plugged into a wall charger, it would turn off after a few minutes.

I have 182gb of music on there (18,854 tracks), which isn't as much as I've seen other people rocking. I also can't use rockbox or my car stereo won't work properly, which is very important to me.

I restored it this evening and I am currently loading it up with tunes (it's going to be a few hours) and I'll be testing it again tomorrow. I was curious if anyone had experienced this issue and had any advice. Could it be a bad HDD? I've seen some posts about getting a bigger battery, but since my ipod is almost always plugged in, I didn't think that'd be an issue.