Become a member of the iLounge Forums. Register Now!
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forum FAQ and Forum Policy.

Topic: iPod Cllassic 160GB Formatted & Corrupted

Reply Thread Tools Topic Search

Old 05-08-2011, 01:18 AM

Freshman Lounger

iPod Cllassic 160GB Formatted & Corrupted

Hi there:
When I was trying to synchronize my iPod classic (160 GB; which I have been using only for a few months) with a new playlist on my PC (Windows 7 – 64 bit), the iTunes (64 bit) froze and when I disconnected and reconnected the device, I was asked to reformat it which I did (using right-click on the device icon). Afterward however, iTunes refuses to recognize my iPod and the information on the summary page is limited to the minimum (No iPod name, capacity unavailable, etc.) and I get the message: “"iTunes detects an iPod that seems to be corrupted"
The restore button on the iTunes doesn’t work and so far, I have used many steps such as the 5Rs and reinstalled the latest update of iTunes (64 bit for Windows 7) and using the iPod troubleshooting assistant, I have used the below steps which didn’t help at all.
- Restart the iPod Service
- Restart the Apple Mobile Device Service
- Empty your Temp directory and restart
- Verify that the Apple Mobile Device USB Driver is installed
- Change your iPod's drive letter
- Remove and reinstall iTunes
- Disable conflicting System Services and Startup Items
- Update, Reconfigure, Disable, or Remove Security Software
- Deleting damaged or incorrect registry keys
Although the currently empty device seems normal and functions well, it seems that during the formatting, I have erased a key element that was necessary for the device to be seen and recognized by iTunes. If that is the case, can I restore my iPod to the factory setting aside from using the iTunes restore button? With many thanks in advance for your help.