Become a member of the iLounge Forums. Register Now!
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forum FAQ and Forum Policy.

Topic: What is 'Other' space in iPod Summary?

Reply Thread Tools Topic Search
Old 02-24-2007, 05:42 AM

Freshman Lounger

Question What is 'Other' space in iPod Summary?

Hi all, this is my first post! I'm fairly new to iPod so please excuse my questions.

So I just accidentally deleted all the contents on my 80GB video iPod (which is another story - I tried to sync the movies but didn't realize all my files on iPod would be erased ), it is a bit frustrating but okay, I guess I can start over since I've been experiencing frozen screen (on "Do not disconnect") and figured I might as well restore its original settings. But after the restore is completed, I see in the iPod Summary page that my 80GB iPod really only has 74.37GB in capacity, and the 'Other' category takes up 76.1MB, which makes total free space to be merely 74.29MB.

My first question is, where has that 5GB+ of space gone to? And what is 'Other' that consumes 76MB of space? Are they system files of some sort?

Thanks in advance!

Join the iLounge Community and the ad above will disappear.

Old 02-24-2007, 07:51 AM

Senior Lounger

Hello. Most of the size difference on your iPod's harddrive is due to a difference between how harddrive manufacturers and computer operating systems determine storage size. For HD makers, 1000 bytes= 1 kilobyte. For computer operating systems, 1024 bytes= 1 kilobyte. This discrepancy is such that the bigger the harddrive, the less actual space you really have.

On my 30GB iPod, I have only 27.84 of space.

As for your second question, I'm not sure, but I assumed myself that "Other" is both system files and cover art.

Rick
Old 02-24-2007, 08:04 PM

Freshman Lounger