"DO NOT DISCONNECT" message does not go away!

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

anilph7

Hi,

I have been using my 80G video iPod since December 2006 without any problems at all.

This morning I connected the iPod to the USB port as I do several times daily. However, this time the iPod did not show up on iTunes. So I used regular USB port disconnect method for Windows XP and then disconnected the iPod. Now the "DO NOT DISCONNECT" message on my iPod does not want to go away, thus effectively making the iPod un-usable.

I have since tried to connect and disconnect several times and even restarted my laptop. But it neither does my iPod show up on iTunes nor does the "DO NOT DISCONNECT" message go away. My iPod is just stuck.

How do I get rid of that message and get back to using the iPod? Do I have to wait till the battery drains fully - but even then will this thing work ever again?

I guess since I bought this in December, the warranty will probably cover this if I need to return it or get it serviced.

I will appreciate all help. I just need to get this thing to work again.

Cheers

paranoidxe

Do a Reset (Hold Center + Menu for about 10 seconds until the apple logo appears)

lockjawdavis

I tried that fix. Similar to my 3Gen iPod. Unfortunately, no luck. Any other suggestions???

jinjok

i had/ve this problems with vista yesterday. did you upgrade the firmware recently???

BUG??!

my fix was to always eject from itunes not simply from windows remove hw

Christobal

Same here on a newish 80 GB with Macbook. Lights are on, "Do not disconnect". can't do anything.

Reset only hurts my fingers!!

HELP!

C

Last edited:

Nickster

GODZILLA!!!111oneone
Website
thenickster.net
Have you just tried ejecting your iPod from iTunes? You should see next to the iPod in the Source menu a small eject symbol. There is also one in the corner of iTunes. If you need something more visual click here.

Christobal