Become a member of the iLounge Forums. Register Now!
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forum FAQ and Forum Policy.

Topic: Possible to download non ITunes songs onto iPod???

Reply Thread Tools Topic Search

Old 10-29-2006, 06:30 PM

Freshman Lounger

Possible to download non ITunes songs onto iPod???

I'm a complete newbie and went online last night and found numerous sites have have songs a lot less than ITunes .99 a song.

I've compliled a playlist and it does show up under the ITunes menu as Shared Files (the vehicle is MP3 Rocket).

My question is 1) can you download "non-ITunes" songs on my iPod and 2) how do you get the songs in the Shared Files section actually onto the iPod?

Thanks for your help.

Join the iLounge Community and the ad above will disappear.

Old 10-29-2006, 07:08 PM

Veteran Lounger

Quote:
1) can you download "non-ITunes" songs on my iPod
You can load mp3's on to your iPod, but if you bought them from another source they'er probably protected wma files which will not load.

Quote:
2) how do you get the songs in the Shared Files section
You can not load files from a Shared source, the files must be on your computer in iTunes library to put them on your iPod. You may listen to them in iTunes. If they are on your computer you can add them to iTunes library as long as they are not protected wma.

64GB iPad 3, 64GB iPhone 5s, 1G 16GB touch, 4G & 6G Silver 16GB nano, 5G 60GB iPod, 1G AppleTV, 2G ATV, Late 2013 27" iMac
Old 10-29-2006, 07:39 PM

Freshman Lounger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparkee
You can load mp3's on to your iPod, but if you bought them from another source they'er probably protected wma files which will not load.