HELP! USB device malfunctioned?!?!

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

1stDegreeMurder

If anyone could help me, it would be really appreciated.

Tonight, while I was trying to put songs onto my iPod, my computer froze. It was one of those freezes where it stays frozen for hours, and the CTRL+ALT+DELETE just doesn't work. I hesitated a bit, but decided that the only way to unfreeze the computer was to restart the computer... with the Ipod still connected. I've had to shut down my computer before while my ipod was still connected, and never ever experienced any problems. However this is my first time RESTARTING the computer with the Ipod still conncected as opposed to SHUTTING DOWN the computer while connected. Now, it seems as though this has completely destroyed the USB, or something. Everytime I try to plug in the USB cable to my ipod, my computer says, "USB DEVICE NOT RECOGNIZED, the usb malfunctioned.... etc..."
How exactly do I fix this problem? Is the entire USB device, whatever that is, broken? Or it just that one USB cable that's damaged? I don't see how me restarting the computer while still connected could damage the cable... but then again, I don't know much about this stuff... so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

1stDegreeMurder

Please, somebody?
I tried another new USB cable, and it still doesn't fix the problem. I tried the new cable on my sister's Ipod and it worked fine for her, but when I tried it, it didn't work. So, I think there's something wrong with my iPod... now what?

Help please.

zin-chee