Become a member of the iLounge Forums. Register Now!
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forum FAQ and Forum Policy.

Topic: Can I run an ipod and iphone off same itunes?

Reply Thread Tools Topic Search
Old 08-14-2008, 10:55 AM

Freshman Lounger

Can I run an ipod and iphone off same itunes?

I have searched about could not find a thread answering the questions I had. Please do no flame me, I am new to iPods and iPhones.

I have recently bought an iPod Classic 80 gb (I am not sure which generation though but it is a week old). I love it and have put all 35 gb worth of music on my pc and it all works faultlessly.
My question is this, i am about to get an iPhone also, although I do not want to store music or video on it just use it as a phone.
Will I be able to run an iPhone and an iPod of the same copy of iTunes?
If not what should I do?

Join the iLounge Community and the ad above will disappear.

Old 08-14-2008, 11:34 AM

Pro Lounger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atari Boy
I have searched about could not find a thread answering the questions I had. Please do no flame me, I am new to iPods and iPhones.

I have recently bought an iPod Classic 80 gb (I am not sure which generation though but it is a week old). I love it and have put all 35 gb worth of music on my pc and it all works faultlessly.
My question is this, i am about to get an iPhone also, although I do not want to store music or video on it just use it as a phone.
Will I be able to run an iPhone and an iPod of the same copy of iTunes?
If not what should I do?
Yes, you can connect multiple iPods (including iPhones) with one iTunes. Each iPod will automatically have its own profile, so you don't have to worry about getting music and video mixed up on different iPods.

iPhone 3GS (32GB black) / Sennheiser MM200
Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) / MacBook (Black, 160GB HDD, 2GB RAM)