winmail.dat on ipad

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Cougs

what program do i need to view email attachments send from a windows environment? it is getting very fustrating not being able to see something that any simple windows machine can do.....
Please help
:mad:

Website
www.ilounge.com
The short answer is you'll need a third-party app such as Winmail.dat Viewer.

To be fair its not technically any Wndows machine, but rather any Wndows machine running Microsoft Outlook. Essentially, winmail.dat is a proprietary rich-text e-mail format used by Microsoft Outlook and Exchange systems, leftover from the days long ago before HTML e-mail became standard. As a consultant, I wrestled with this frequently years ago with many of my clients who were using non-Exchange email systems even on Wndows, and it still remains an issue today with everything from GroupWise to GMail, although fortunately most modern Exchange systems no longer spit these out in Internet e-mail.

If you're receiving winmail.dat attachments, it generally means somebody hasn't configured their Exchange system properly and is sending these RTF files out to the Internet instead of using HTML e-mail. Even Microsoft recommends that Exchange administrators not send RTF e-mail out to the Internet.

I realize this is a small consolation, as you probably don't have any control over the system that you're receiving this mail from, but the bottom line is that this is an old legacy format that most systems have long since abandoned for use in Internet e-mail. Third-party developers have created necessary workarounds for people in situations such as yours, but it's not unreasonable that Apple itself doesn't support an e-mail format that has never been used by anything other than an Exchange system and that even Microsoft recommends against using for external Internet e-mail.

kornchild2002