Become a member of the iLounge Forums. Register Now!
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forum FAQ and Forum Policy.

Topic: Ipod Dock Connector Pin Out Diagram

Reply Thread Tools Topic Search
Old 07-21-2003, 12:07 AM

Freshman Lounger

Ipod Dock Connector Pin Out Diagram

I recently purchased a 15gig ipod. I would like to use it in my car but have found all the mounting kits on the market to be poor.

I have some experience with metal fabrication and would like to make a stand that is unobtrusive looking to both my car and my ipod.

Even more important is the sound. I have a tape cassette adapter and the sound is horrible. I know the headphone jack is better but if I am going to go the trouble I would like to use the line out source on the dock.

My question is does anyone know where I can get a wiring diagram or schematic of the dock plug?

Thanx in advance

Join the iLounge Community and the ad above will disappear.

Old 07-21-2003, 04:21 AM

Pro Lounger

If you find one, see if you can make a clip that attaches to the dock port and has a pigtail with a 3.5mm lineout jack. Ill give you 25 bucks

60 GB iPod photo

*iPodlounge.com Contributing Editor and PHP/MySQL Kung Fu Master*

Georiga Tech

My Music
Old 07-21-2003, 12:21 PM

Otto
Banned

I've noticed that the dock plug and/or the iPod doesn't have the best isolation in the world. I get a ground loop if I have power charging to the dock at the same time as playing from it. Annoying. A simple ground isolator fixes it, of course, but it's something to keep in mind when installing into your car, as a ground loop is a lot easier to achieve there.