Advice on setting up wireless entire home speaker system

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

WillD

I need some advice on setting up a wireless speaker system in my house, that I can control with my iPad or iTouch. I have no idea where to start and don't really want to purchase an AirportExpress for each room. I have an Airport Extreme (Time Capsule), an iPad, iTouch, iMac and an AppleTV. Where do I go from here?

I have an AppleTV in the living room connected to speakers. I have my Time Capsule and iMac in a bedroom. I'd like to have speakers in 2 other rooms, the kitchen and a bathroom. I want the system to be as wireless as possible. I'm new to this whole side of things and don't know the best way to do this. i.e. Wi-fi, bluetooth, etc.

I'm not even sure if what I want is readily available yet, so any guidance is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

WillD

The more I read online, it seems people recommend against wireless speakers. Apparently the technology is not really that good and it's very expensive for something that works alright. I'm trying to figure out why I can stream HD video wirelessly no problem, but streaming audio is still not up to par. Shouldn't that be easier with such smaller digital files?

I just don't want to spend the time and money to wire the house, considering I won't be living there for more than 2 more years. I can just pack a wireless system and take it with me.

I have no idea if it exists (although I think it should), but I was picturing hooking a unit to my iMac, where my iTunes exists and that unit would wirelessly send my audio to any number of speakers in the house. Is that around?

Surf Monkey

Website
www.dvdinmypants.com