iTunes + ID3 Tags (Yup.. Another One)

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Erieg

Website
www.reluctantrealist.com
I have used iTunes as my music/device manager for years pretty much without a blip but I just ran into an issue regarding ID3 tagging.

I have been collecting music for 30 years and I finally finished importing my music about a month ago. I have been really anal as I imported my music to make sure that all the info was interred correctly and when I look at it through iTunes it is perfect.

I decided that besides my backup measures I would also get a portable hard drive that I could tote to work with me. I setup iTunes and told it my portable drive is the library and the added the music. When it was all done adding I noticed that about 120 GBs worth of music was missing all or parts of the tag info. Now this really doesn't make me happy. The majority of that music isn't some thing I can find on amazon or wiki to get the song info. The music is from LPs, CDs, DAT.. hell there was one rip from an 8 track. I would say it's 80% non-commercial.

The question I have is why is all the information on my main computer there and not on the files themselves? Is there some way to force what iTunes has listed on to the ID3 Tag?

I read somewhere about converting the tag to a different version. Does this force iTunes to rewrite the tag? Can just highlight my library and convert? I am really sorta sick thinking that all of that work was messed up. I can just pray that my main computer lives forever because.

Erieg

Website
www.reluctantrealist.com
I took all media and converted it to FLAC for permanent storage and I then made 320kb MP3 copies of them for day to day use.

Every single file in iTunes on my home is tagged correctly. All album, artist, song, track, number of tracks, number of CDs, year, etc. What I found after I tried to hook my new portable drive with a copy of my library to my work PC is: