Why does iTunes change the track order when I burn a CD?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

alangayle0

Hello I'm new here so apologies if this has already been asked/answered. I checked the FAQs but didn't see anything.

I've been using my iPod & iTunes for 4 years and I've never had any trouble burning CDs with the tracks in the order I want them in. But recently iTunes changes the order of the tracks when I'm burning a disc.

I put the tracks I'm burning in a new playlist, then arrange them into the order I want, then click the 'burn' button. The tracks in the playlist stay in the right order but the order on the CD is completely different, and totally random (not by artist, genre, album or alphabetical etc.) Shuffle is turned off.

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong or if something has changed with the software?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've wasted 6 blank CDs today trying to burn one CD!!

psyskiesman

Hi All, Happy New Year. I'm having a similar problem. I've added three new CD's today and everything shows in the iTunes library correctly, but on the iPod the tracks are in the wrong order and with incorrect track numbers. What have I done wrong? Never had this problem before but recently tried to transfer library to new laptop.

Last edited:

cjmnews

Staff member
Audio CDs will be burned in the order of the playlist.

MP3 and Data CDs will not. They get ordered as described in the first post.

As for the second, unrelated post, you should try removing the songs from the iPod and put them back on to see if the data from iTunes is reset on the iPod to match what iTunes says.

psyskiesman