Then you aren't connecting it to the computer you originally synced it to? The iPod is supposed to sync to the library it is originally connected to regardless of password. I mean it says in the manual, if you forget your password, you must restore the iPod, see page 74.
Does the iPod even connect or show in iTunes? The option to restore may still be available in the summary tab, or do you have someone else's locked iPod?